Saturday, January 30, 2016

More than 400 Entries Vie for the World Slasher Cup Title

A record-breaking 402 entries featuring the best and the finest cockers and gamefowl breeders in the world will seek action in the Smart Araneta Coliseum with the opening of the much-awaited 2016 World Slasher Cup-1-8-Cock Invitational Derby today.

A powerhouse American delegation is determinated to bring home the crown after the Filipino sensation Gerry Ramos (AAO Hitcock) thwarted a gallant bid by Indonesian Soan (Mahakam Synergy-III) using Keith Cargill's fighters. Ramos emerged as the solo champion of the 2015 World Slasher Cup-1.

Out of the reclaim the glory for the westeners are Cargill of California whose birds were used by Sohan from Bali, Indonesia; Carol Nesmith of Alabama with Nene Abello, Texan Skinny Joel and his Mel Simms Aces, Roger Roberts, Goy Goita, Reymund Canet of Texas, Wilbert LeBlanc, Richard Harris and Charles Tetlow of Louisiana; Randy Hall of Texas, Mike Formosa, Butch Cambra and Kini Kaiwaaia of Hawaii, Damon Yorkman of Oklahoma and Nathan Jumper of Mississipi- grandson of Johnny Jumper- touted as of the greatest roostermen who ever lived.

Other ultimate Slasher hopefuls are Mark Salazar of Malaysia, Atty. Ed Arreola & Carlos Camacho of Guam and Ray Roberto of Saipan.

Today's 2-cock eliminations when each entry will fighting two roosters each will continue tomorrow and on Monday. The 2-cock semi-final are set on February 2,3 & 4, wherein all the entries may continue to fight including those with two losses in the eliminations.

        On February 5 and 6, those with scores of 2, 2.5 and 3 points, will slug it in the 4-cock pre-finals, although, this is equally important becuse, if any 3-pointer will win all its assigned matches, it may eventually win the crown if no one in the grand finals will be able to score perfectly.

This 4-cock grand finals take center stage on February 7 wherein all undefeated entries with scores of 3.5 or 4 points will lock horns for the championship.

The local team who will battle it out include Nene Araneta, Engr. Sonny Lagon, Gov. Ito Ynares, Charlie "Atong" Ang, Cong. Patrick Antonio, Gerry Ramos, Gov. Claude Bautista, Cong, Rudy Albani, Mayor Cito Alberto, Boy Jiao, Wilsong Ong, Nestor Venidivil, Bernie Tacoyof Ormoc, Peping Ricafort, Gov. Eddie Bong Plaza of Agusan del Sur, Manlambayan Brothers, Jet Fernando & som Joel, Jun Bacolod, Edward Pe, Raymond Velayo, Eddie Araneta, Jun Topacio, Joey delos Santos, Felix Trebol, Henry Osea, Beng Joso, Oribello Brothers and former champion Rolly Gabon.

Hosted by the Pintakasi of Champions, the World Slasher Cup sponsors are Thunderbird, BMEG and Petron.

WSC Presscon video:


Recent Posts